World Press Photo award

Yesterday I awoke to some very good news – I placed 3rd in the Sports Action Stories category of the World Press Photo contest, the world’s largest and most prestigious annual photojournalism contest. The work I submitted was shot during the Beijing Olympics Games in August, 2008.

You can view the series on the World Press Photo website here, or as a slideshow with much larger images on my website here.

It’s a great honour to have been selected, and a great start to the year.

CHINA BEIJING 2008 OLYMPIC GAMES

~ by Julian Abram Wainwright on February 14, 2009.

5 Responses to “World Press Photo award”

  1. Awesome news. Congrats, jules!

  2. Congrads on your award, nice to seen canucks winning.

    I like the work you have posted here, checkout my blog if you have a sec- http://www.brettgundlock.com/blog

  3. Great shots! Congrats.

    I miss Vietnam http://flickr.com/photos/nhbdy/99467756/in/set-72057594064065883/

  4. Hi Juilan

    I think your award-winning photograph of Hugo Parisi is brilliant. Is it possible for me to buy a print of it from you — ideally large-size, say about 1 metre long?

    Best regards

  5. hi….it’s all sports photographers dream make like your frames..also my dream frames you done in China…great effort…with love….piyal/calcutta

Leave a Reply

 
