Best picture request I’ve ever had

A few days ago I got an email from the brother of an American Olympic diver. He said his family was putting together a photo collage of his sister’s diving experience at the Beijing Olympics, and that an image I had taken of her was “by far, our family’s favorite photo of my sister’s diving career.”

Wow. That’s just about the greatest compliment a photographer could get. I quickly contacted our head office and was able to get the image sent out, free of charge. It’s one thing for a magazine or newspaper to request an image. It’s another thing entirely for a family to request an image of their daughter/sister. So much more personal. Knowing my image will likely be hanging in that family’s living room gives me more pride than seeing it published in a magazine, newspaper or website.

Made my day.


~ by Julian Abram Wainwright on February 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
