Canon 5DmkII, same price in HCMC as NYC?!?

I’ll likely be purchasing a new 5DmkII sometime this year, and since I’m in North America for a few months, I thought it would likely be best to do it now while I can take advantage of stock and pricing in New York. But I thought first I’d ask a few friends in Vietnam what the pricing and availability was there, and it turns out you can get it for $2700, the same price offered at B&Hphoto in Manhattan. This gives me some extra time to save up, and takes the pressure off having to make that purchase right now, when money’s a little tight.

But back to the price – that’s incredible! Just a few years ago, camera gear was heavily marked up in Vietnam, quite often around 30% higher than prices in NYC. So I usually resorted to buying gear in Bangkok or Singapore whenever I found myself there, as the prices were more reasonable, but still slightly higher than New York.

Sure, stock and variety are still lacking in Hanoi and Saigon, so for lenses I’ll still stick to B&H. But it looks like my days of leaving the country to source camera bodies are over…..

Thanks Kevin, NaSon, Francois and Justin for the info…..

~ by Julian Abram Wainwright on February 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
