A Canadian winter

It’s been eight years since I experienced the charms of a full Canadian winter. But I am back again for three months, taking a leave from Vietnam for the birth of my first child. In Halifax, arcticy winds reached 105km/hr yesterday, making it about -300 million Centigrade. There’s a crisp layer of snow already on the ground, just in time for a white Christmas. I wouldn’t want to deal with this every year, but I think I can handle it just about every eight

Been almost a week since we reached these eastern shores after a gruelling 24hr flight from Bangkok, and I’m still jet-lagged. For a photographer that’s not necessarily a bad thing, as I find myself getting out of bed well before sunup. I look forward to wandering around the neighbourhood in the wee hours and making pictures before dawn, with all the blue light and frost, but right nw I’m still putoff by all the parkas and boots and scarves and gloves and fleeces I have to layer on to go outside. For now I’m happy to grab a frame from the kitchen window as the coffee percolates.

I really am looking forward to photographing empty space. I’s such a rarity in Hanoi.

DAWN

blogh_001

DUSK

1-2

~ by Julian Abram Wainwright on December 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
