How to spend a quiet Sunday afternoon….

Yesterday a did a shoot with my friend Thao, who is finishing up her studies at the London School of Fashion here in Hanoi. Most of the fashion work I do is documentary or behind-the-scenes, but I’ve worked with Thao before and had a blast. So when she called me and asked if I was interested in shooting her final school collection, I jumped at the chance to break out my new octobox and have some fun.

Once again we were lucky to work with Vietnamese model Ha Vi, who brought a few friends as well as Hanoi hair guru Hung and his salon crew. Before I knew it, there 10 people in my small studio. The air-con was sputtering out warm air and it was 36 degrees outside. And there was no beer (quickly rectified).

We all had fun, despite the heat, and tomorrow Thao is presenting photos from the shoot along with her final collection. She’s immensely talented, and the sky’s the limit for her after graduation. Definitely looking forward to what she does in the future.

And for anyone who finds themselves in Hanoi on August 2 with an empty social schedule, the graduation and final fashion show for the students is at Sum Villa (West Lake), 8pm.

~ by Julian Abram Wainwright on July 21, 2008.

5 Responses to “How to spend a quiet Sunday afternoon….”

  1. […] How to spend a quiet Sunday afternoon….Yesterday a did a shoot with my friend Thao, who is finishing up her studies at the London School of Fashion here in Hanoi. Most of the fashion work I do is documentary or behind-the-scenes, but I’ve worked with Thao before and had a … […]

  2. I spent last Sunday at my friend’s wingding and spuds day. Ingredients: 70 pounds of chicken wings, 60 pounds of potatoes, 2 propane powered deep fryers, 6 cases of Labatt’s Blue. Stir in 40 adults, 7 children, and 6 dogs. Shake gently.

    Oh…you said quiet…forget all that.

  3. […] How to spend a quiet Sunday afternoon….Once again we were lucky to work with Vietnamese model Ha Vi, who brought a few friends as well as Hanoi hair guru Hung and his salon crew. Before I knew it, there 10 people in my small studio. The air-con was sputtering out warm air … […]

  4. […] How to spend a quiet Sunday afternoon….Once again we were lucky to work with Vietnamese model Ha Vi, who brought a few friends as well as Hanoi hair guru Hung and his salon crew. Before I knew it, there 10 people in my small studio. The air-con was sputtering out warm air … […]

  5. […] How to spend a quiet Sunday afternoon….Yesterday a did a shoot with my friend Thao, who is finishing up her studies at the London School of Fashion here in Hanoi. Most of the fashion work I do is documentary or behind-the-scenes, but I’ve worked with Thao before and had a … […]

Leave a Reply

 
